Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Digitally Downloaded
    Aug 5, 2022
    90
    There are things that you need to be critical of in Sword and Fairy: Together Forever. The game hasn’t been made to the same precision as the upper echelons of RPGs out of Japan and the West, and that is undeniable. But then Together Forever has the singular advantage of being one of the few Chinese RPGs that we get to play, and that makes it distinctive, different, and worthy on its own merits. Add in incredible art direction (oh how I love Yue), and a gorgeous combat system, and we’ve got perhaps the most interesting RPG of 2022 here. I really hope people don’t overlook it.
  2. COGconnected
    Aug 4, 2022
    89
    Unfamiliar with the franchise, I was genuinely and pleasantly surprised by Sword and Fairy: Together Forever. Although its pacing may frustrate impatient gamers, its story is worth telling. With outstanding art direction, music, and combat mechanics, Sword and Fairy: Together Forever should appeal to fans of sprawling RPGs. While the player can sometimes feel like an observer rather than a participant, Sword and Fairy: Together Forever is welcoming to newcomers. It may still be a niche series, but Sword and Fairy Together Forever cements the franchise’s viability for a larger audience.
  3. Gaming Nexus
    Aug 4, 2022
    85
    Sword and Fairy: Together Forever is a gorgeous and engaging Chinese high fantasy role-playing game that deserves more attention from the West. Localization and technical optimizations have been implemented since the game’s original release on PC, making this console port the best way to experience this game. The vast number of cutscenes and depth of lore may be off-putting for some, but those willing to give this title a chance will not be disappointed. Sword and Fairy is a game that should be viewed through its own lens, without the comparisons to Japanese role playing games, and only so will this franchise truly be appreciated.
  4. GamingBolt
    Aug 5, 2022
    80
    Sword and Fairy: Together Forever is a solid port of the PC version but doesn't offer much for returning players.
  5. PlayStation LifeStyle
    Aug 4, 2022
    80
    Sure, it’s got a few hiccups in the translation and font size, the questing could have done with a bit more variety and the combat was missing just a little something extra. However, these are mostly minor gripes in an otherwise well-crafted experience. If you are in the market for an action RPG and don’t mind reading subtitles, this should definitely be something on your radar.
  6. Finger Guns
    Aug 4, 2022
    80
    A genuine diamond in the rough kind of game. Sword and Fairy: Together Forever constantly had my attention with varied gameplay, diverse and gorgeous locations, fantastic pacing and some genuinely touching character moments. If not for a handful of technical issues and a wonky but still understandable translation: Sword and Fairy: Together Forever would’ve scored higher. I loved it, regardless.
  7. Hey Poor Player
    Aug 4, 2022
    80
    I truly hope that Sword and Fairy: Together Forever finally releasing on consoles gives the series the boost it needs towards more widespread recognition globally. It’s a fantastic title with some of the deepest lore to grace the genre in a while, which also manages to back up its compelling narrative with combat that is a joy to engage with. In a summer that has sorely been lacking in epic RPGs for genre enthusiasts to get stuck into, Sword and Fairy: Together Forever not only helps fill that void but does so with a level of style and heart that begs to be experienced.
  8. Video Chums
    Aug 16, 2022
    78
    Sword and Fairy: Together Forever is a unique action RPG that's packed with variety, a gorgeous game world, and oodles of optional content. It may not be the most challenging or deep RPG out there but it's definitely special, I can tell you that.
  9. Hobby Consolas
    Aug 4, 2022
    75
    We have some criticism on Sword and Fairy: Together Forever and in it's current state still needs some patches. But the truth is we were hooked while playing, because there's also a lot to love here. It has the potential and charm of the biggest roleplaying games mixed with a unique setting and characters.
  10. The Games Machine
    Aug 5, 2022
    71
    First time in Europe for the Chinese-folklore inspired ARPG series, Sword and Fairy: Together Forever has a charming personality and world-building, but it fails in delivering a strong experience due to balance and optimization issues.
  11. PlayStation Country
    Aug 4, 2022
    70
    Sword and Fairy: Together Forever is a linear, cutscene heavy RPG so people's mileage may vary. I enjoyed the story and characters despite the clumsy translation and the action combat is decent if unremarkable. Importantly it runs well, with only the odd hiccup, which after the last game wasn't a given.
  12. GameGrin
    Aug 4, 2022
    70
    Issues aside, I enjoyed playing Sword and Fairy: Together Forever. It isn’t going to be for everyone, and the lore can be a bit overwhelming, but for those willing to stick with it, you’ll find a deep and engrossing RPG.
  13. Everyeye.it
    Aug 4, 2022
    70
    The more than satisfactory combat system therefore turns out to be diluted within a vision that has preferred to put the narrated phase at the center of the work, too often weakening the feeling of enthusiasm and grit returned by the excellent clashes.
  14. Gaming Age
    Aug 12, 2022
    67
    When you get down to it, it’s still a lot of basic hack and slash fights broken up by lots of endless cutscenes, with extra side quests there to pad out the length even further. I don’t foresee Sword and Fairy: Together Forever garnering the kind of following here in the west that it has in China, but if you just want to kill lots of monsters and watch lots of dialogue, it may be worth your time.
  15. Aug 4, 2022
    67
    A new beginning for the saga, which despite its imperfection, is enjoyable until the end.
  16. Push Square
    Aug 10, 2022
    60
    Sword and Fairy: Together Forever won't satisfy everyone. Action enthusiasts will be disappointed in how underutilised the combat system is, and those looking for a lovingly crafted story will have to stomach an especially poor English localisation. But even with its obvious flaws, Together Forever has undeniable charm in its endearing characters and elegant presentation. An enjoyably breezy RPG, if you can keep your expectations in check.
  17. PlayStation Universe
    Aug 4, 2022
    50
    Despite its potential, Sword and Fairy: Together Forever gets bogged down by a slow start, odd writing, repetitious fetch quests, and unpolished boss mechanics. Occasional variety in gameplay and well put together segments can carry the day for some, but too many lulls and too much tedium get in the way of what could have been a solid experience.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Aug 6, 2022
    8
    Good-
    Beautiful visuals; Well-written characters, Fun combat.
    Bad- Inconsequential side-quests, Poor pacing. Thoughts- Sword and
    Good-
    Beautiful visuals; Well-written characters, Fun combat.

    Bad-
    Inconsequential side-quests, Poor pacing.

    Thoughts-
    Sword and Fairy: Together Forever is a good enough package of this intriguing RPG, and while Softstar hasn’t added much content or drastically changed up gameplay mechanics – it doesn’t detract from the fact that this is a solid experience that’s worth seeing through to the end. The lack of an English voice dub is a downer, and so is the lack of proper explanation of character progression mechanics and an uneven difficulty curve. Those who have previously played through the game might be tempted to skip this version, but if you haven’t and are even passingly intrigued by the concept or gameplay – you might just end up loving this one.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 6, 2022
    10
    I have to say this is a really beautiful game, I heard it's a PC port one, but I never played on PC before, it runs well on PS5, and goodI have to say this is a really beautiful game, I heard it's a PC port one, but I never played on PC before, it runs well on PS5, and good price, good graphics. Full Review »
  3. Aug 8, 2022
    8
    Graphic is beautiful, story and characters so far so good, only music and voice of speech is not balanced